Monetary and credit trends as of June 1, 2015

The average ruble monetary base for January-May 2015 amounted to 37.8 trillion rubles. Compared to January to May 2014, it increased by 16%. In May of 2015, its volume amounted to 39.6 trillion rubles, having increased from the beginning of the year to 3.4 trillion rubles, or 9.3%, while in May the average growth of the ruble monetary base amounted to 2.8 trillion rubles (Figure 1).
 

Figure 1

PERFORMANCE CHANGES
in ruble monetary base in 2015

Ruble monetary base, billion rubles (the left scale)
Growth rate, % (the right scale)


The average ruble money supply from the beginning of the year grew by 3.3 trillion rubles, or by 3.7% and amounted to 92.4 trillion rubles. Compared to January - May 2014, it increased by 12.6%. In May 2015, the average amount of the ruble money supply reached 98.1 trillion rubles.

The main factors that influenced the rise in the average ruble money supply in May 2015 were immediate and transferable public deposits, cash (Figure 2).
 

Figure 2
   
CHANGES IN INDICATORS
of the average of the ruble money supply in May 2015
(billion rubles)

Cash in circulation
Transferable deposits of natural persons
Transferable deposits of legal entities
Term deposits of natural persons
Term deposits of legal entities
Securities issued by banks (outside bank turnover)

The average broad money supply since the beginning of 2015 increased by 55.9 trillion rubles, or by 25.9% and amounted to 271.1 trillion rubles. Compared to January - May 2014, it increased by 35.5%. During May 2015, its growth amounted to 1.9 trillion rubles, or 0.7%.

The currency component of broad money supply in May increased by 97.5 million US dollars, or 0.8%. In May 2015, the share of ruble component in broad money supply decreased by 0.2%age points to 34.7%.

Currency market. In May 2015, households sold 150.7 million USD on a net basis (in April 2015 – $249.6m).

In May 2015, resident economic entities purchased foreign currency in the amount of $91.9 million on net basis (Figure 3).
 

Figure 3

CURRENCY PURCHASE AND SALE BALANCE
on the domestic foreign exchange market
(million USD)

Households
Resident economic entities


The daily mandatory sale of foreign exchange averaged $32.4 million in May 2015(in April 2015 - $31.8 million).

In May 2015, according to preliminary data, economic entities bought foreign currency at the exchange and over-the-counter markets mainly with objectives to repay foreign exchange loans, (38.1% of the exchange bought), pay for fuel and energy resources (13.2%), purchase raw materials (13.2%) and to pay for equipment and components (8.7%).

International reserve assets. According to preliminary data, the international reserve assets of Belarus, calculated in compliance with international standards, amounted to 4.6 billion US dollars as of June 2015 (Figure 4).
 

Figure 4

DYNAMICS
of international reserve assets in accordance with IMF methodology
(million USD)


 

In May 2015, the volume of gold and foreign reserve assets increased by 36.2 million US dollars. At the same time, in May 2015, the Government of the Republic of Belarus and the National Bank have fulfilled their internal and external obligations in foreign currency in full.

Exchange rate. The value of the foreign currency basket1 for May increased by 1.6% and on June 1, 2015 amounted to 3, 123 rubles (Figure 5)
 

Figure 5

DYNAMICS
of the foreign currency basket value


 

Over May 2015, the official rate of the Belarusian ruble dropped against the Russian ruble by 0.9%, amounting to 283 rubles per 1 Russian ruble, against the US dollar - by 2.3%, amounting to 14 810 rubles, against the euro - by 1.7%, amounting to 16,180 rubles2 (Figure 6).
 

Figure 6

DYNAMICS
of changes in the BYR official exchange rate on the first day of the month
(%)

BYR monthly changes in the official exchange rate against the US dollar
BYR monthly changes in the official exchange rate against the euro
BYR monthly changes in the official exchange rate against the Russian ruble


Year to date, the official BYR exchange rate in relation to foreign currencies and foreign currency basket were as follows: it dropped by 23.8% against the basket, against the US dollar - by 25%, against the euro - by 12.5%, against the Russian ruble - by 31.9%.

Interest rates and liquidity of the banking system. In the field of interest-rate policy, the National Bank kept the focus at setting a level of interest rates which would ensure the financial and macroeconomic stability and slowdown in inflation.

In May 2015, the refinancing rate remained at 25% per annum.

In May 2015, the liquidity supply rates (overnight credits, swap transactions), which form the upper limit of the interest rate corridor, remained at 35% per annum. Liquidity withdrawal rates forming the lower boundary (overnight deposit) remained at 20% per annum3.

The monthly rate of the daily interbank market averaged 25.5% per annum (Figure 7).
 

Figure 7

DYNAMICS
of interest rates on the operations of the National Bank of Belarus
(% per annum per annum)


Overnight credit rate
Refinancing rate
 

Overnight deposit rate
Daily interbank credit market rate


The National Bank regulated the bank liquidity via standard operations (permanently available deposits and open market operations). 

Deposit and credit markets interest rates. In May 2015 the deposit market interest rates in the national currency decreased, in foreign currency – slightly increased (Figure 8). 
 

Figure 8

DYNAMICS
of interest rates
(% per annum)

New ruble time deposits
Daily interbank market
New ruble bank credits
Refinancing rate


In May 2015 the interest rate of new ruble time deposits averaged 26.1% per annum.

In May 2015 the interest rate of natural persons’ new ruble time deposits averaged 28% per annum, having decreased in May by 8.5% age points.

In May 2015 the interest rate of legal persons’ new ruble time deposits averaged 24.5% per annum, dropping during the month by 1.8% age points.

In May 2015 the credit market rates changed (table 1). The interest rate for BYR new loans4 averaged 42.7% per annum, declining during the month by 0.9% age points.

In May 2015, the interest rate on new freely convertible currency12 averaged 10.5% per annum (table 1).
 

Table 1

AVERAGE RATES
On the deposit and credit markets
(% per annum)

 
2015

Monthly change

Change year to date

April
May
New ruble time deposits
30,7
26,1
-4,6
-7,3

legal persons

26,3
24,5
-1,8
-8,0

natural persons

36,5
28,0
-8,5
-7,6
New hard currency term deposits
6,0
5,9
-0,1
1,0

natural persons

6,1
6,3
0,2
1,4
New BYR bank credits12
43,6
42,7
-0,9
1,7

legal persons

44,3
43,4
-0,9
11,8

natural persons

39,0
37,8
-1,2
9,5
New hard currency credits for legal persons12
10,2
10,5
0,3
0,9


Bank assets (liabilities).
Assets of banks on June 1, 2015 amounted to 547.1 trillion rubles and rose to 2.1% or 11.5 trillion rubles in May 2015. The ratio of average total assets to GDP in annual terms was 65.8%in April 2015 (Figure 9).
 

Figure 9

BANK ASSETS DYNAMICS

trillion rubles
%
Bank assets (the left axis)
Bank assets to GDP (the right axis)


Banks’ claims on residents5 for May 2015 increased by 1.8%, or 8.9 trillion rubles.

In May 2015, Banks' claims on the economy increased by 4.4 trillion rubles, or 1.2%. Since the beginning of 2015 they increased by 11.5%, or 39.9 trillion rubles.

In May 2015, claims of banks and JSC “Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus” on the economy increased by 5.4 trillion rubles, or 1.3%. In may 2015, claims in the national currency increased by 52.1 billion rubles, and in foreign currency - increased by 5.3 trillion rubles, or 6,6 million US dollars equivalent.

Since the start of 2015, claims of banks and JSC “Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus” rose by 43.2 billion rubles, or by 11.8 per cent (according to aggregative estimates of the BYR rates to the US dollar, euro and Russian ruble on January 1, 2015, they increased by 4.1 billion rubles, or 1.1%).

Compared with GDP, corporate lending performed at faster pace. Thus, in January -April 2015 compared to January - April of 2014, real GDP fell by 2.6%, while claims of banks and JSC "Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus” on the economy grew in real terms over the period on average by 9.8% (against the relevant period).

As of June 1, 2015, with respect to the beginning of the year, there was a decline in the share of claims on natural persons in bank assets structure and an increase in all other fund allocation are as excluding claims on resident economic entities whose share remained unchanged (Figure 10).
 

Figure 10

STRUCTURE
off bank active operations
(%)

Claims on resident economic entities
Claims on natural persons
Claims on bodies of state administration
Claims on the National Bank
Claims on non-residents
Other fund allocation areas


As of June 1, 2015, there was an increase in the share of natural persons and non-residents in the bank liabilities structure. At the same time the share of bodies of state administration, banking system, and resident economic entities as well as banks’ own capital decreased (Figure 11).
 

Figure 11

BANK LIABILITIES STRUCTURE

Funds of bodies of state administration
Funds of banking system
Funds of resident economic entities
Funds of natural persons
Funds of non-residents
Banks’ own capital
Other liabilities

 


1 The currency basket value is calculated as the weighted geometric average of the two-way exchange rates of the Belarusian ruble against the US dollar (USD), the euro (EUR) and the Russian ruble (RUB), with the weights being 0.3, 0.3 and 0.4 respectively, i.e., the currency basket value is calculated as the product of the values of the exchange rates of the Belarusian ruble against the US dollar to the power of 0.3, the euro to the power of 0.3, and the Russian ruble to the power of 0.4.

2 The exchange rate data is provided according to the National Bank’s survey.

3 Since June 1, 2015 - 18% per annum.

4 Excluding soft credits provided according to decisions of the President of the Republic of Belarus, Government of the Republic of Belarus.

5 Banks’ claims on residents include banks’ claims on the economy, bodies of state administration, banks and the National Bank.

© 2019 RUE «NATIONAL CENTRE FOR MARKETING AND PRICE STUDY»
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus

Тенденции в денежно-кредитной сфере на 1 июня 2015 г.

Денежная эмиссия. Средняя рублевая денежная база за январь-май 2015 г. сложилась в объеме 37,8 трлн. рублей. Относительно января-мая 2014 г. она выросла на 16 процентов. В мае 2015 г. ее объем составил 39,6 трлн. рублей, увеличившись с начала года на 3,4 трлн. рублей, или на 9,3 процента, при этом за май рост средней рублевой денежной базы составил 2,8 трлн. рублей (рисунок 1).
 

Рисунок 1

ДИНАМИКА
изменения рублевой денежной базы в 2015 г.


 

Средняя рублевая денежная масса с начала года выросла на 3,3 трлн. рублей, или на 3,7 процента и составила 92,4 трлн. рублей. Относительно января-мая 2014 г. она выросла на 12,6 процента. В мае 2015 г. объем средней рублевой денежной массы составил 98,1 трлн. рублей.

Основными факторами, повлиявшими на рост средней рублевой денежной массы в мае 2015 г., выступили срочные и переводные депозиты населения, наличные деньги (рисунок 2).
 

Рисунок 2

ИЗМЕНЕНИЕ
показателей  средней рублевой денежной массы за май 2015 г.
(млрд. рублей)


 

Средняя широкая денежная масса с начала 2015 г. увеличилась на 55,9 трлн. рублей, или на 25,9 процента и составила 271,1 трлн. рублей. Относительно января-мая 2014 г. она увеличилась на 35,5 процента. За май 2015 г. ее рост составил 1,9 трлн. рублей, или 0,7 процента.

Валютная составляющая широкой денежной массы в мае выросла на 97,5 млн. долларов США, или на 0,8 процента. Доля рублевой составляющей в широкой денежной массе за май 2015 г. снизилась на 0,2 процентного пункта до 34,7 процента.

Валютный рынок. Населением за май 2015 г. продано на чистой основе 150,7 млн. долларов США (за апрель 2015 г. - 249,6 млн. долларов США). 

Субъектами хозяйствования-резидентами за май 2015 г. на чистой основе куплено иностранной валюты в объеме 91,9 млн. долларов США (рисунок 3).
 

Рисунок 3

САЛЬДО ПОКУПКИ И ПРОДАЖИ
валюты на внутреннем валютном рынке
(млн. долларов США)


 

Среднедневная обязательная продажа иностранной валюты в мае 2015 г. составила 32,4 млн. долларов США (в апреле 2015 г. - 31,8 млн. долларов США).

Основными целями покупки иностранной валюты субъектами хозяйствования на биржевом и внебиржевом рынках в мае 2015 г. по предварительной информации являлись погашение кредитов в иностранной валюте (38,1 процента купленной валюты), оплата за топливно-энергетические ресурсы (13,2 процента), приобретение сырья и материалов (13,2 процента), оплата оборудования и комплектующих (8,7 процента).

Международные резервные активы. По предварительным данным, международные резервные активы Республики Беларусь, рассчитанные в соответствии с международными стандартами, на 1 июня 2015 г. составили 4,6 млрд. долларов США
(рисунок 4).
 

Рисунок 4

ДИНАМИКА
международных резервных активов в соответствии с методологией МВФ
(млн. долларов США)


 

За май 2015 г. объем золотовалютных резервных активов увеличился на 36,2 млн. долларов США. При этом в мае 2015 г. Правительством Республики Беларусь и Национальным банком внешние и внутренние обязательства в иностранной валюте были исполнены в полном объеме.

Обменный курс. Стоимость корзины иностранных валют1 за май увеличилась на 1,6 процента и на 1 июня 2015 г. составила 3 123 рубля (рисунок 5).
 

Рисунок 5

ДИНАМИКА
стоимости корзины иностранных валют
(белорусских рублей)


 

Официальный курс белорусского рубля за май 2015 г. снизился к российскому рублю на 0,9 процента, составив 283 рубля за 1 российский рубль, к доллару США - на 2,3 процента, составив 14 810 рублей; к евро - на 1,7 процента, составив 16 180 рублей2 (рисунок 6).
 

Рисунок 6

ДИНАМИКА
изменений официального обменного курса
белорусского рубля на первое число месяца
(процентов)


 

С начала года официальный курс белорусского рубля по отношению к иностранным валютам и корзине иностранных валют сложился следующим образом: к корзине снизился на 23,8 процента, по отношению к доллару США - на 25 процентов, к евро - на 12,5 процента, по отношению к российскому рублю - на 31,9 процента.

Процентные ставки и ликвидность банковской системы. Национальный банк в области процентной политики сохранил направленность на формирование в экономике уровня процентных ставок, обеспечивающих финансовую и макроэкономическую стабильность, замедление инфляции.

В мае 2015 г. ставка рефинансирования осталась на уровне 25 процентов годовых.

В мае 2015 г. ставки по операциям предоставления ликвидности (кредит овернайт, сделки СВОП), формирующие верхнюю границу коридора процентных ставок, сохранились на уровне 35 процентов годовых. Ставки по операциям изъятия ликвидности, формирующие нижнюю границу (депозит овернайт) остались на уровне 20 процентов годовых3.

Среднемесячная ставка однодневного межбанковского рынка в среднем за месяц составила 25,5 процента годовых (рисунок 7).
 

Рисунок 7

ДИНАМИКА
процентных ставок по операциям Национального банка Республики Беларусь
(процентов годовых)


 

Национальный банк проводил регулирование банковской ликвидности посредством стандартных операций (постоянно доступные депозиты и операции на открытом рынке).

Процентные ставки на депозитном и кредитном рынках. Ставки на депозитном рынке в мае 2015 г. в национальной валюте снизились, в иностранной валюте - незначительно увеличились (рисунок 8).
 

Рисунок 8

ДИНАМИКА
процентных ставок
(процентов годовых)


 

Средняя процентная ставка по новым срочным рублевым депозитам в мае 2015 г. составила 26,1 процента годовых.

Средняя процентная ставка по новым срочным рублевым депозитам физических лиц в мае 2015 г. составила 28 процентов годовых, снизившись за май на 8,5 процентного пункта.

Средняя процентная ставка по новым срочным рублевым депозитам юридических лиц в мае 2015 г. составила 24,5 процента годовых, уменьшившись за месяц на 1,8 процентного пункта.

Ставки на кредитном рынке в мае 2015 г. изменились (таблица 1). Средняя процентная ставка по новым кредитам в белорусских рублях4 составила 42,7 процента годовых, снизившись за месяц на 0,9 процентного пункта.

Средняя процентная ставка по вновь выданным кредитам в свободно конвертируемой валюте (далее - СКВ)12 за май 2015 г. сложилась на уровне 10,5 процента годовых (таблица 1).
 

Таблица 1

СРЕДНИЕ СТАВКИ
на депозитном и кредитном рынках
(процентов годовых)
   

 
2015

Изменение
за месяц

Изменение
с начала года

Апрель
Май

По новым срочным рублевым
депозитам

30,7
26,1
-4,6
-7,3

юридических лиц

26,3
24,5
-1,8
-8,0

физических лиц

36,5
28,0
-8,5
-7,6

По новым срочным депозитам
в СКВ

6,0
5,9
-0,1
1,0

физических лиц

6,1
6,3
0,2
1,4

По новым кредитам банков
в белорусских рублях12

43,6
42,7
-0,9
11,7

юридических лиц

44,3
43,4
-0,9
11,8

физических лиц

39,0
37,8
-1,2
9,5

По вновь выданным кредитам
юридическим лицам в СКВ12

10,2
10,5
0,3
0,9


Активы (пассивы) банков. Активы банков на 1 июня 2015 г. составили 547,1 трлн. рублей и выросли за май 2015 г. на 2,1 процента, или на 11,5 трлн. рублей. Отношение среднего объема активов к ВВП в годовом исчислении за апрель 2015 г. составило 65,8 процента (рисунок 9).
 

Рисунок 9

ДИНАМИКА АКТИВОВ БАНКОВ


 

Требования банков к резидентам5 за май 2015 г. выросли на 1,8 процента, или на 8,9 трлн. рублей.

Требования банков к экономике за май 2015 г. увеличилась на 4,4 трлн. рублей, или 1,2 процента. С начала 2015 года их прирост составил 11,5 процента, или 39,9 трлн. рублей.

Требования банков и ОАО "Банк развития Республики Беларусь" к экономике за май 2015 г. выросли на 5,4 трлн. рублей, или на 1,3 процента. За май 2015 г. требования в национальной валюте увеличились на 52,1 млрд. рублей, в иностранной валюте - выросли на 5,3 трлн. рублей, или на 6,6 млн. долларов США в эквиваленте.

Требования банков и ОАО "Банк развития Республики Беларусь" к экономике с начала 2015 года выросли на 43,2 трлн. рублей, или на 11,8 процента (по укрупненным расчетам по курсам белорусского рубля к доллару США, евро и российскому рублю на 1 января 2015 г. они увеличились на 4,1 трлн. рублей, или на 1,1 процента).

В сравнении с ВВП, кредитование экономики осуществлялось опережающими темпами. Так за январь-апрель 2015 г. к январю-апрелю 2014 г. реальный ВВП снизился на 2,6 процента, а требования банков и ОАО "Банк развития Республики Беларусь" к экономике в среднем за период в реальном выражении (к соответствующему периоду) выросли на 9,8 процента.

В структуре активов банков на 1июня 2015 г. относительно начала года отмечено снижение доли требований к физическим лицам и увеличение доли остальных направлений размещения средств за исключением требований к субъектам хозяйствования-резидентам, доля которых не изменилась (рисунок 10).
 

Рисунок 10

СТРУКТУРА
активных операций банков
(процентов)


 

В структуре пассивов банков по состоянию на 1 июня 2015 г. увеличилась доля средств физических лиц и средств нерезидентов. В то же время уменьшились доли средств органов государственного управления, средств банковской системы и субъектов хозяйствования - резидентов, а так же собственный капитал банков (рисунок 11).
 

Рисунок 11

СТРУКТУРА
пассивов банков



 



1 Стоимость корзины валют рассчитывается как среднее геометрическое взвешенное двусторонних курсов белорусского рубля к доллару США (USD), евро (EUR), российскому рублю (RUB) с весами 0,3, 0,3 и 0,4 соответственно, т.е. стоимость корзины валют рассчитывается как произведение значений курсов белорусского рубля к доллару США в степени 0,3, к евро в степени 0,3 и к российскому рублю в степени 0,4.

2 Данные по обменному курсу приводятся согласно обзору Национального банка.

3 С 1 июня 2015 г. - 18 процентов годовых.

4 Без учета кредитов, предоставленных на льготных условиях по решениям Президента Республики Беларусь, Правительства Республики Беларусь.

5 Требования банков к резидентам включают в себя требования банков к экономике, органам государственного управления, банкам и Национальному банку.

 

© 2012 РУП «Национальный центр маркетинга и конъюнктуры цен»
Министерства иностранных дел Республики Беларусь