Information on Geography

Information on Geography


The Republic of Belarus is a country in eastern Europe. On the west Belarus adjoins Poland, while Lithuania lies to the northwest, Russia to the east and northeast and Ukraine to the south. Its borders have a total length of 2969 kilometres and run along areas of flat lands with no considerably large natural barriers. This facilitates the construction of transport ways and intensifies the development of economic relations. Belarus lies along one of the major routes in Eurasia and along the direct routes connecting central and eastern Russia with western Europe and the Baltic sea with the Black sea. The distance from the nation’s capital Minsk to the capitals of the neighbouring states is 215 km to Vilnius, 470 km to Riga, 580 km to Kiev, 700 km to Moscow and 1060 km to Berlin.

The territory


Belarus has a compact territory and covers an area of  207.6 square  kilometres. It stretches over 650 km from west to east and over 560 km from north to south. It is 13th in size among the European countries and 6th among the CIS countries (after Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan). Belarus is a little smaller in size than Great Britain and Romania while it is 2.2 times larger than Portugal and Hungary. An estimated  population by June, 1, 2001 was 9 972 people. Its population is 14 times smaller than that of Russia, 5 times smaller than in Ukraine, while its sum total is 1.3 times larger than in all three Baltic states, 2 times larger than in Finland and Denmark and it is more populous than Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria and Sweden. More than 100 nations live in the country. Ethnic Belorussians make up about ¾ of its population both in urban and rural areas. The remainder are Russians, Polish, Ukrainians and other nations.

Relief


Much of Belarus mainly consists of flat lands and hills; an average elevation is 160 metres. Its highest point is 345 metres. The flat surface area creates good conditions for living and facilitates farming as well as the construction of plants and factories, transport ways and communications, the organization and development of tourism and recreational facilities.

Climate


Belarus has a moderately continental climate with mild and humid winters, warm summers and damp autumns.

Average January temperatures range from  –4°C in the southwest to –8°C in the northeast. Average temperatures in July range from +17 to +9°C. Annual rainfall ranges from 550 – 650 millimetres on the lowlands to 650 – 750 millimetres on the plains and highlands. Average vegetation period lasts 184 – 208 days.

Weather conditions in Belarus are good for growing such field crops as grain, vegetables, fruit-trees and bushes typical for the central zone of eastern Europe. They are ideal for growing potatoes, flax as well as annual grasses and root crops used for animal feeding.

Resources


About 30 different kinds of raw materials (over 4000 deposits of mineral resources) were explored in Belarus. Of special importance are potassium salts, the deposits of which are claimed to be among the largest in Europe. The reserves of rock salt are practically inexhaustible. The known reserves near Mozyr, David-Gorodok and Starobin that can supply the demands of industry are over 22 bln. tons.

The country is rich in non-ore materials: granite, dolomite, dolomite lime, marl and chalk, fusible and refractory clays, loams, sand and gravel materials. It also possesses raw materials for natural oil (swampy iron ore, ochre, glaukonite etc.)

Reserves of mineral water are widely spread in Belarus and serve as the basis for building health resorts as well as plants for manufacturing mineral and table water. 63 deposits are exploited with an estimate output at 15,5572 cubic metres per day.

The republic has a considerably large amount of building materials. Peat is abundant, but due to the intense exploitation of its reserves its deposits can no longer meet the demands of industry. Combined stocks of geological materials are estimated at 4.4 bln. tons. The amount of materials to be recovered currently is 600 mln. tons. All the rest lie within the areas of natural reserves or are within the areas of the national soil reserves.

Sapropels are also of large importance. Its deposits are estimated at 3 bln. cubic metres. A complex use of peat and sapropel is relevant for the economy. Oil deposits are of minor importance so its production is limited. The deposits of brown coals and shales are exploited but due to their high ash content and low calorie content they cannot be used in energy production. Brown coals can nevertheless be used in bricks in combination with peat as a utility fuel, as an intensifier of plant growth and in the manufacture of wax. On the whole the country’s own fuel and energy resources, including associated gas and firewood, can only supply about 12% of its demand.

There are prospects for ferrous and nonferrous metals on the territory of Belarus. Geological prospecting of amber deposits, titanium, rare-earth metals etc. is carried out. The supplies of mineral resources and raw materials can fully serve the long-term needs for potassium and common salt, lime and cement, refractory and ceramic clays, construction sand, gravel, facing stone. The subsoil of Belarus have not yet been exploited to the full. Rapid changes in the economic situation and the development of modern technologies require the reevaluation of the deposits and reserves of mineral resources to make full use of all the materials to be recovered.

 

© 2019 RUE «NATIONAL CENTRE FOR MARKETING AND PRICE STUDY»
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus

Географическая справка

Географическое положение

Республика Беларусь (Беларусь) расположена в восточной части Европы. На западе с ней граничит Польша, на северо-западе — Литва, на севере — Латвия, на северо-востоке и востоке — Россия, на юге — Украина. Границы (общая протяженность2969 км) проходят по равнинным местностям и не имеют ярко выраженных природных рубежей, что способствует созданию транспортных магистралей и развитию интенсивных экономических связей. Через территорию Беларуси проходит один из магистральных путей Евразии, в том числе самые короткие пути сообщения из центральных и восточных районов России в страны Западной Европы, а также между Балтийским и Черным морями. Расстояние от столицы республики Минска до столиц соседних государств: Вильнюса — 215 км, Риги — 470, Варшавы — 550, Киева — 580, Москвы — 700, Берлина — 1060 км.

Территория

Беларуси составляет 207,6 тыс. км2. Она компактна. Наибольшая ее протяженность с запада на восток — 650 км, с севера на юг — 560 км. По размерам территории республика занимает 13-е место среди европейских государств и 6-е — среди стран СНГ (после России, Казахстана, Украины, Узбекистана, Туркменистана). В Европе Беларусь по площади немного уступает Великобритании и Румынии и более чем в 2,2 раза превосходит Португалию и Венгрию. Население Беларуси на 1 июля 2001 г. составляло 9972 тыс. человек. По численности населения Беларусь занимает 5-е место среди стран СНГ после России, Украины, Узбекистана и Казахстана. В ней проживает в 14 раз меньше населения, чем в России, в 5 раз меньше, чем на Украине, но в 1,3 раза больше, чем во всех трех Прибалтийских государствах бывшего СССР вместе взятых, в 2 раза больше, чем в Финляндии или Дании, больше, чем в Австрии, Бельгии, Болгарии, Швеции. На территории Беларуси проживают представители более 100 национальностей. Большинство населения — представители коренной белорусской нации, составляющие более 3/4 всего населения как в целом по республике, так и в городах и сельской местности. Кроме белорусов в республике живет значительное количество русских, поляков, украинцев и представителей других национальностей.

Рельеф

Беларуси преимущественно равнинно-холмистый, со средней высотой над уровнем моря 160 м, а высшая точка достигает только 345 м. Равнинный характер поверхности создает благоприятные условия для расселения человека, сельскохозяйственного освоения территории, сооружения промышленных предприятий, транспортных и инженерных коммуникаций, организации туризма и рекреационных услуг.

Климат

Беларуси — умеренно-континентальный, с мягкой и влажной зимой, теплым летом, сырой осенью.

Средняя температура января от -4°С на юго-западе до -8°С на северо-востоке страны, июля: +17-19°С. Годовое количество атмосферных осадков составляет 550-650 мм на низинах и 650-750 мм на равнинах и возвышенностях. Средняя продолжительность вегетационного периода 184-208 суток.

Климатические условия Беларуси благоприятны для выращивания основных зерновых культур, овощей, плодовых деревьев и кустарников средней полосы Восточной Европы и особенно для возделывания картофеля, льна-долгунца, однолетних трав, кормовых корнеплодов.

Полезные ископаемые

В Беларуси разведано около 30 видов минерального сырья (более 4000 месторождений и залежей полезных ископаемых). Особое место среди них занимают калийные соли, по промышленным запасам которых страна занимает одно из первых мест в Европе. Запасы каменной соли в Беларуси практически неисчерпаемы. Разведанные промышленные запасы Мозырского, Давыдовского и Старобинского месторождений превышают 22 млрд. т.

Страна богата нерудными полезными ископаемыми: гранитами, доломитами и доломитизированными известняками, мергелем и мелом, легкоплавкими и тугоплавкими глинами, суглинками, песчано-гравийными материалами. Имеется сырье для получения природных красок (болотные железные руды, охра, глауконит и др.).

На территории Беларуси широко распространены минеральные воды, которые являются базой для создания санитарно-курортных комплексов, а также предприятий по продаже и экспорту минеральных лечебных и столовых вод. Разведаны 63 источника с общими запасами 155572 м3/сутки.

Республика располагает достаточно мощной сырьевой базой для производства строительных материалов. Вместе с тем ощущается дефицит в качественных стекольных песках и глинах. Широко распространены в Беларуси залежи торфа, однако вследствие интенсивного использования торфяные месторождения как ресурсные источники добычи в основном исчерпаны. Общие геологические запасы оценены в 4,4 млрд. т. Извлекаемые запасы в настоящее время составляют 600 млн. т, остальные находятся в пределах природоохранных зон или входят в состав земельного фонда республики.

Важным природным ресурсом являются сапропели, запасы которых оцениваются в 3 млрд. м3. Актуальное значение имеет комплексное использование торфяных и сапропелевых ресурсов. Запасы нефти невелики, и поэтому добыча ее ведется в небольших объемах. В Беларуси открыты месторождения бурых углей и сланцев. Однако низкая калорийность и высокая зольность не позволяют использовать их в ближайшей перспективе в большой энергетике. Возможно лишь использование бурых углей в брикетах (в том числе с торфом) в качестве коммунально-бытового топлива, а также сырья для получения воска, стимуляторов роста растений. В целом собственные топливно-энергетические ресурсы, включая попутный газ и дрова, могут обеспечить только около 12% общей потребности хозяйства республики.

Территория Беларуси перспективна на руды черных и цветных металлов. Ведутся поиски месторождений янтаря, титана, редкоземельных металлов и др. Имеющиеся запасы минерально-сырьевых ресурсов позволяют полностью обеспечить перспективные потребности в калийной и поваренной солях, известковом и цементном сырье, тугоплавких и керамических глинах, в строительном песке, песчано-гравийном материале, облицовочном камне. Необходимо отметить, что недра Беларуси до сих пор недостаточно изучены. Изменившаяся экономическая ситуация и появление более современных технологий требуют переоценки месторождений и запасов минерально-сырьевых ресурсов республики, более полного использования всех компонентов добываемых руд.
© 2012 РУП «Национальный центр маркетинга и конъюнктуры цен»
Министерства иностранных дел Республики Беларусь